Archives Main Page | Overview of the Collections | Archives Policies | Searchable Database

Log In | Contact Us | View Cart (0 items)
Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators

Jepson Field Book volume 13 page 112 | University and Jepson Herbaria Archives, University of California, Berkeley

Jepson Field Book volume 13 page 112
Royal Bot. [Botanical] Garden [Edinburgh, Sept. 6, 1905]  John Jeffrey, cont. [continued]  appear to be January 10, 1857, (est) the circular of May 30, 1859 (last) Jeffrey had not been heard from in any way (1857) nor later. All signed by Andrew Murray, Sec'y [Secretary].  One of the earliest circulars, sent out by the Treasurer, David Smith, calling for the paying up of subscriptions is dated 20 March, 1850 and headed as follows: Committee The Hon. Lord Murray The Hon. Lord Cunninghame Sir David Dundas of Dunira, Bart. Sir John Matherson Grant of Ballindallock, Bart. Sir William Gibson-Craig, Bart. M.P. J.H. Balfour, M.D. Professor of Botany. George Patton, Esq. of Cairnies William Murray, Esq. of Henderland Charles Lawson, Esq. George IV Bridge ::::::::: [Royal Botanical Garden] Edinburgh, Sept. 6, 1905  James Greig, Esq. Inverleith Nursery Isaac Anderson, Esq. Maryfield James McNab, Esq. Royal Botanic Gardens Andrew Murray Esq. of Conland (Joint Secretaries) Mr. Charles M'Intosh, Dalkeith (Joint Secretaries) David Smith, Esq. W.S. Treasurer  The complexion of the Com. [Committee] changed considerably by the time that publication of new species was made. M'Nab was the Supt [Superintendent] of the Royal Botanic Gardens.  Jeffrey wrote to Balfour from Oregon City, March 14, 1853, indicating the routes of boxes forwarded and said: At present I am on the eve of starting for the Rocky Mountains by way of the south side of the Columbia River on reaching the mountains I will turn south
University and Jepson Herbaria Archives, University of California, Berkeley
Found in:

Page Generated in: 0.165 seconds (using 141 queries).
Using 5.92MB of memory. (Peak of 6.09MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign